Search

Executive Development in Policing Program

Course detail

Program area: Leadership

Course code: EDP

Register
2022
Course registration details
Session(s) Location Start date End date
22-01 B Blended 2022-09-06 2023-06-28
Course 1 OV Online-Virtual 2022-09-06 2022-11-25
Course 2 B Ottawa/Online-Virtual 2023-01-09 2023-02-17
Course 3 OV Online-Virtual 2023-03-06 2023-04-28
Course 4 B Online-Virtual/In Person TBD 2023-05-15 2023-06-28
Cost
Tuition Accommodation Full Meals Total
$11,700.00 no data- no data- $11,700.00

Description

The Canadian Police College is pleased to offer the modernized Executive Development in Policing program (EDP), the result of which is based on feedback from an extensive needs analysis and current trends in leadership development.

Police executive leaders work in dynamic environments that are quickly changing and evolving. They face internal and external challenges that require high levels of personal and professional resilience and strong strategic capacity. Successful police executive leaders need to be confident and innovative decision makers while creating healthy work place environments that are people focused. Also of great importance is that they need to have a network of peers that are part of their support system.

The Executive Development in Policing program (EDP) is for high potential police and civilian senior managers and executives working in law enforcement. It is designed to enhance and evolve participants’ leadership competencies, with a focus on strategic and emotional and social dimensions and an overarching goal of strengthening their leadership character. Participants will work through a series of four consecutive courses designed to progressively challenge them to be leaders who inspire, are visionary and are change agents.

As part of the program, participants will complete a series of assignments in all four courses that include an extensive strategic leadership project that will focus on both strategic planning and the importance of connecting process and people. The newly revised central EDP project is designed to give participants the opportunity to integrate the people and process dimensions of leadership as they actively engage in the dynamic creation of structures, policies and practices that build individual and organizational capacity and capability to deliver public safety services.

A series of key partners will contribute to the delivery of the program over and above the EDP Manager such as EDP fellows, the project coach and assessor, key senior law enforcement executive leaders as well as key academic and industry subject matter resources. Individually participants will also work internally with an executive sponsor and a project advisor.

EDP consists of four consecutive courses which will be delivered using a blended approach of online self-study, virtual sessions and in person (post-pandemic). The four courses are listed here with their respective duration, associated virtual sessions, and participant assignments:

Central and Other EDP Assignments Workload

In total, EDP participants will complete 13 assignments, 8 of which will be part of the central assignment in the program which will be completed progressively throughout the program. For the central assignment, participants will individually complete a series of 8 assignments for which they should expect to necessitate the following amount of time:

For the other 5 assignments, 3 will be completed individually and 2 will be completed in a group setting. Each will require approximately 2 hours to complete.

Format and delivery

Length of program
10 to 12 months
Class size
  • Online, self study and virtual: maximum 16 students or
  • Online, self study, virtual and in person: maximum 24 students
Delivery setting

One of the two options:

  • Online self-study and virtual delivery (mandatory attendance during work hours)
  • Online self study, virtual and in person (mandatory attendance during work hours)

Learning outcomes

Eligibility and mandatory requirements

Eligibility
The program is designed for senior law enforcement managers and decision makers at the rank of inspector or superintendent or an equivalent.
Prerequisite
Applicants must have completed the Strategic Policing through Action and Character leadership development course (formerly the Senior Police Administration Course) offered by the Canadian Police College or an equivalent management and leadership course or work experience. This can be specified in Section B on the registration form.
Admittance Mandatory Requirements

To register, registrants must:

Assessment

Transfer credits

The graduates of the college's Executive Development in Policing program are eligible for credits toward specific graduate programs at Charles Sturt University and at Wilfrid Laurier University. For more information, please refer to the Transfer credits section.

Contact

For more details or other information about the course, please email cpcregistrar@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Recherche

Programme de perfectionnement des cadres supérieurs policiers

Détails du cours

Secteur de programme : Leadership

Code du cours : PCSP

Inscrivez-vous
2022
Détails pour s'inscrire
Séance(s) Lieu Début Fin
22-01 B Mixte 2022-09-06 2023-06-28
Cours 1 OV En ligne-Virtuelle 2022-09-06 2022-11-25
Cours 2 B Ottawa/En ligne-Virtuelle 2023-01-09 2023-02-17
Cours 3 OV En ligne-Virtuelle 2023-03-06 2023-04-28
Cours 4 B En ligne-Virtuelle/En personne TBD 2023-05-15 2023-06-28
Coûts
Frais de cours Hébergement Formules de repas Total
11 700,00 $ no data- no data- 11 700,00 $

Description

Le Collège canadien de police est heureux d'offrir une version modernisée du Programme de perfectionnement des cadres supérieurs policiers (PPCSP). Cette version est le fruit d'une analyse exhaustive des besoins des cadres et des tendances récentes en perfectionnement du leadership.

Les dirigeants policiers opèrent dans des environnements dynamiques qui changent et évoluent constamment. Ceux-ci sont confrontés à des défis internes et externes devant lesquels ils doivent faire preuve de résilience personnelle et professionnelle en plus de posséder une grande capacité stratégique. Les dirigeants policiers performants doivent posséder une solide capacité de prendre des décisions de manière innovante tout en instaurant des milieux de travail sain axé sur les personnes. Également d’une grande importance, les dirigeants doivent avoir accès à un réseau de pairs qui font partie de leur système de soutien.

Le Programme de perfectionnement des cadres supérieurs policiers est conçu pour les gestionnaires supérieurs et exécutifs qui ont un potentiel élevé dans le secteur de l’application de la loi. Il vise à permettre aux participants d’évoluer leurs compétences en leadership, avec un accent sur les capacités stratégiques et socio-émotives et de permettre l’atteinte de l’objectif global du programme, celui de renforcer le caractère du leader. Les participants se verront compléter une série de quatre cours consécutifs qui sont conçus pour mettre progressivement à défi la capacité du participant à être un leader qui inspire, est un visionnaire et est un agent du changement.

Au cours du programme, les participants compléteront une série de travaux d’apprentissage à l’intérieur des quatre cours qui inclus un projet en leadership stratégique qui se concentre sur la planification stratégique et l’importance des liens entre les processus et les personnes. Le nouveau projet stratégique révisé du programme PCSP permet aux participants de bien comprendre l’importance de l’intégration des processus et des personnes tout en s’engageant activement à la création dynamique de structures, politiques et pratiques qui permettent de développer des habilités et la capacité individuelles et organisationnelles permettant d’offrir des services de l’application de la loi aux public.

Plusieurs partenaires clés participent à la livraison du programme performant au-delà du gestionnaire du programme dont les fellows du programme, l’évaluateur et coach du projet de recherche, une gamme de dirigeants policiers séniors ainsi que des intervenants provenant du milieu académique et des industries connexes. Les participants sont également invités à travailler avec un sponsor exécutif et un conseiller de projet à partir de leur organisation.

Les quatre cours, qui combinent de l'autoformation en ligne, des séances virtuelles et de l'enseignement en personne (après la pandémie), sont décrits en détail ci dessous et renferment la durée, le nombre de sessions virtuelles et les travaux des participants :

Charge de Travail pour le Projet Central du Programme et des Autres Devoirs

En tout, les participants complèteront un total de 15 devoirs dont 8 feront partie du projet central du programme et seront complétés de manière progressive au cours des douze mois du programme. En tout, ils complèteront 8 devoirs associés à ce projet et devront investir les efforts suivants :

5 des 7 autres devoirs seront complétés individuellement et les 2 autres se feront en groupe. Chacun des 7 devoirs nécessitera 2 heures de travail à compléter.

Format et prestation

Durée du programme
De dix à douze mois
Taille des groupes
  • Autoformation en ligne et séances virtuelles : maximum de 16 participants ou
  • Autoformation en ligne, séances virtuelles et séances en personne : maximum de 24 participants
Format

Deux options :

  • Autoformation en ligne et séances virtuelles (présence obligatoire pendant les heures de travail)
  • Autoformation en ligne, séances virtuelles et séances en personne (présence obligatoire pendant les heures de travail)

Résultats d'apprentissage

Admissibilité
Le programme est conçu pour les gestionnaires supérieur de l’application de la loi qui sont au niveau d’inspecteur ou surintendant ou l’équivalent.
Prérequis
Exigences Obligatoires

Pour s’inscrire, le postulant doit :

Évaluation

Transfert de crédits

Les diplômés du Programme de perfectionnement des cadres supérieurs policiers peuvent faire la demande de reconnaissance de crédits pour certains programmes d'études supérieurs de l'Université Charles Sturt (en anglais seulement) et de l'Université Wilfrid Laurier (en anglais seulement). Pour plus d'information, s'il-vous-plaît vous référer à la section de Transfert de crédits.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour obtenir des précisions sur le cours, communiquez avec nous par courriel : cpcregistrar@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.

Date de modification :