Search

Strategic Policing through Action and Character course (through an Indigenous lens)

Course detail

Program area: Indigenous policing

Course code: SPAC-I

Register

 

2022
Course registration details
Session(s) Location Start date End date
22-01B English Online/Ottawa 2022-10-24 2022-11-18
Cost
Tuition Accommodation Full Meals Total
$ 6,500.00 $ 1,140.00 $ 900.00 $ 8,540.00

Description

The Canadian Police College is pleased to offer the new, modernized SPAC-I (through an Indigenous Lens). This new SPAC-I is now the Strategic Policing through Action and Character course. It is based on extensive needs analysis and replaces the previous Senior Police Administration Course. This modernized leadership development course has retained many of the elements of the previous SPAC-I and places greater emphasis on interpersonal awareness and communication. This SPAC-I includes the following elements:

This course is for individuals working in law enforcement in support of Indigenous communities who have had some supervisory experience and who are ready to accept the leadership challenges of more senior or complex managerial roles. Students learn how to improve and adapt their personal management and leadership skills to meet changing social conditions, specifically as they relate to Indigenous communities. Topics covered include leadership and management concepts, leading high performance teams, issue analysis and problem solving, business case development, research, ethics, conflict resolution, and communication.

Format and delivery – 2 options

Length of course

Option 1

Virtual – 7 weeks

  • with approximately 15 hours/ week of virtual learning during weeks 2,3,5 and 6
  • weeks 1, 4 and 7 involve more independent learning
  • a more detailed schedule will be provided to participants

Virtual: maximum 16 students

Option 2

Blended delivery – 4 weeks in duration

  • 2 weeks of virtual (on line) learning
    • Monday to Friday – 4 hrs. a day

Followed by

  • 2 weeks in class with presenters
    • Monday to Friday, 8 hrs. a day

Blended: maximum 24 students

Learning outcomes

Eligibility and mandatory requirements

Assessment

Transfer credits

The graduates of the College's Strategic Policing through Action and Character (SPAC-I) course, are eligible for credits toward specific programs at Charles Sturt University and at Wilfrid Laurier University. For more information, please refer to the Transfer credits section.

Date modified:

Recherche

Cours Police stratégique par l'action et le caractère (dans le cadre d'une approche autochtone)

Détails du cours

Secteur de programme : Services de police autochtones

Code du cours : CACPA

Inscrivez-vous
2022
Détails pour s'inscrire
Séance(s) Lieu Début Fin
22-01B Anglais En ligne/Ottawa 2022-10-24 2022-11-18
Coûts
Frais de cours Hébergement Formules de repas Total
6 500,00 $ 1 140,00 $ 900,00 $ 8 540,00 $

Description

Le Collège canadien de police est heureux d'offrir une nouvelle version modernisée du cours Police stratégique par l'action et le caractère (dans le cadre d'une approche autochtone). Le cours est fondé sur une analyse approfondie des besoins et remplace l'ancien Cours d'administration policière supérieure (CAPS). Il conserve beaucoup d'éléments de l'ancienne version tout en mettant davantage l'accent sur la sensibilisation et la communication interpersonnelles. Le cours comprend les éléments suivants :

Le PSAC comprend maintenant les éléments suivants:

Ce cours s'adresse aux personnes travaillant dans le domaine de l'application de la loi en soutien aux communautés autochtones et qui ont acquis une certaine expérience de supervision au cours de leur carrière et qui sont prêtes à relever les défis de leadership que posent des rôles de gestion supérieurs ou complexes. Les participants apprennent à améliorer et adapter leurs compétences personnelles en gestion et en leadership en fonction de l'évolution des conditions sociales, spécifiquement en ce qui concerne les communautés autochtones. Le cours porte notamment sur les concepts de gestion et de leadership, la direction d'équipes hautement performantes, l'analyse et la résolution de problèmes, l'élaboration d'analyses de rentabilisation, la recherche, la déontologie, la résolution de conflits et la communication.

Format et prestation – 2 options

Durée du cours

Option 1

Virtuel – 7 semaines

  • environ 15 heures par semaine d'apprentissage virtuel durant les semaines 2, 3, 5 et 6;
  • les semaines 1, 4 et 7 comportent davantage d'apprentissage autonome;
  • un calendrier détaillé sera fourni aux participants.

Virtuel : maximum 16 étudiants

Option 2

Mixte – 4 semaines

  • 2 semaines d'apprentissage virtuel et en ligne
    • Lundi au vendredi – 4 heures par jour

Suivi de

  • 2 semaines en classe avec conférenciers
    • Lundi au vendredi – 8 heures par jour

Mixte : maximum 24 étudiants

Résultats d'apprentissage

Admissibilité et exigences obligatoires

Évaluation

Transfert de credits

Les participants qui auront réussi le cours pourront transférer des crédits à certains programmes de la Charles Sturt University (en anglais seulement) et de la Wilfrid Laurier University (en anglais seulement). Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la rubrique Transfert de crédits du site du CCP.

Date de modification :